Coffee Review: Jacobs Kronung

Jacobs Kronung is the best of the Jacobs’ coffees.  In fact, “Kronung” mean “coronation” or “crowning”.   The blend of beans, roasted the Jacobs’ way, gives it a smooth texture and a rich aroma.  Jacobs believes in roasting coffee to extract the character and structure of the beans, which gives its own special taste.

Jacobs began roasting coffee in 1895 in Germany, and today, Jacobs is the best-selling coffee in that country.  Consistently, devotees describe the rich, full flavor, combined with low acidity as the perfect cup of coffee for any time of day.  It is a medium roast, but the smooth texture and the bold flavor combine to give it almost, but not quite, a dark roast coffee experience.

We have Kronung in a variety of blends:  Mild or Balanced; we offer it ground, whole bean or instant; and decaf.  We also have a variety of sizes that allow you to sample or stock up until our next shipment.  If the aroma of coffee is what you enjoy most about coffee, then you must try Kronung today!  Enjoy Better Coffee today!

26 thoughts on “Coffee Review: Jacobs Kronung

  1. Jacqui

    I have a jar of Jacobs which i keep in my office at work, because that is the only coffee i drink. Somehow the coffee has a funny smell, not that soft aromatic fragrance that Jacobs has when you open the jar. Can you please explain??

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqui, Thanks for the question. There are 2 primary reasons instant coffee can smell off. One is if the jar is stored near other ‘smelly’ items in the cupboard/space. Smells can be absorbed. The other is when the jar has been in use for a while. Every time it is opened, moisture and smells will affect it. Just curious – is it still drinkable? Does it have that odor when you make it too?

      Like

  2. Hi, I am a student at Stellenbosch University and I have a marketing assignment to develop a integrated marketing communication plan for a brand of my choice and I chose Jacobs Kronung South Africa, of course because I love the coffee! Can you please help me in telling me where I can find recent stats and figures of the coffee, like sale numbers and market share in SA and so on?

    Like

    1. Hi. That sounds like a fun project! We think Jacbos Kronung is a great company. Unfortunately, we are a distributor in the United States. Jacobs Kronung SA has an active Facebook page and other information about the company, so you should be able to find sales and market data. Good luck on your project!

      Like

    1. Crowns…Kronen = crowns, such as royalty would wear. Jacobs refers to this roast as a ‘crowning’ achievement! 🙂 Thanks for the question.

      Like

    1. Hi Marianne,

      I think you are in South Africa, so I am not sure where in SA you can find it. Are you referring to Kronung ground coffee? It is in a green package, but the word “filter” is not included in the name. You can find Jacobs on our site at: http://www.enjoybettercoffee.com/Jacobs-Coffee-s/1.htm. We do ship internationally through Bongo, which you can read about under the Selling Policies tab on our site. Please let us know if that helps!

      Like

  3. yoga for weight loss

    I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the
    problem still exists.

    Like

    1. Hi Yoga,
      I don’t seem to have a problem with this loading. Are you finding it on other blog sites or just this one? I went to a few wordpress sites, no problem. I will watch for a problem on this side, just in case. Thanks.

      Like

  4. Sharon Eldridge

    Can anyone tell me where I can purchase two green Jacobs coffee mugs from Please!! I am a Jacobs addict!!

    Like

  5. Arash

    Hi, could anyone say that which method i should prepare jacobs kronung ground coffee? (Moka pot, Espresso machine, Filter and more…)

    Thanks

    Like

    1. Hi Arash,

      We think that a French Press is the absolute best way to make coffee. With ground Kronung, it can be made in a French Press or a drip coffee maker. The French Press allows all of the flavors and aromas of the beans to really come through. You can try other methods, and I suspect it will slightly change which elements of the brewed coffee are more prominent. If you try making it in an espresso machine, for instance, tell us about it! We would love to hear how it turns out. In the meantime, try a French Press. Thanks for posting!

      Like

      1. Glad to help, Arash! We love our coffee here! I look forward to hearing from you soon on your experiences with the different coffee makers!

        Like

  6. I think that Jacobs is basically the best coffee around, well in South Africa. I think that there are many different coffee’s that can be looked upon as “average” or “normal”, but Jacobs is a bit above average and that is why the price is what it is.

    I agree with the prices, being higher, the normal buyer/consumer can expect to pay more for better quality.

    Only thing is, I would really like to get into contact with someone ( staff member) to run a new idea, but can’t seem to get a hold of any e-mail adress etc.

    Can anybody help?

    Please let me know @ info@inyokasafaris.co.za

    Like

    1. Hi Pierre,

      Thanks for your comments. I agree, there are some things that consumers can expect to pay more for in order to get a higher quality product.

      I apologize that you were unable to find the email address you needed. If you are looking to discuss blog stuff, post a message here and I will get back to you. If you are looking to discuss products or the like, then you would have found our contact info on our coffee and tea sites (www.EnjoyBetterCoffee.com and http://www.EnjoyBetterTea.com). The person at the online store to contact is Victor. His email is sales@enjoybettercoffee.com. Good luck, and thanks for stopping by our site!

      Like

  7. abeil

    I love jacobs coffee. it is a bit over priced though, but i still love it. I live in south africa and i paid 98 rand for 200 g coffee, which makes it about 500 rand per kg. In ethiopia one can buy same quality coffee for 50 rand a kilo. i hope the people working on the plantations are getting a good portion of this unreasonable profit margin.

    Like

    1. Thanks Abeil for your comments. I do like Jacobs also. I don’t know the US dollar equivalents for the numbers you referenced; we certainly have noticed that coffee has gone up in price over the last year or two. We are proud to say that our brands, for the most part, adhere to sustainability regulations: For instance, many of the brands are part of UTZ, an international organization that is dedicated to helping farmers and the environment. I was able to find a little on the internet that indicatesJacobs has been committed to sustainability since the late 1990’s. We hear your concerns!

      Like

Comments are closed.