Coffee Review: KIMBO Gold Medal Italian Espresso Coffee

Someone once said “Espresso yourself!”

Once upon a time, I was afraid to espresso myself.  Espresso will be too strong, I worried.  It will be too bitter, I feared.  I can’t have it with milk and sugar, I fretted.  Of course, my concerns were far overrated – in fact, I have come to enjoy espresso, especially when I need a little pick-me-up!  (And, even better, I don’t feel too “hyped up” by it!)

So it was with some trepidation combined with a sincere desire to give espresso a chance, though, that I tried Caffe KIMBO Gold Medal Italian Espresso Coffee.

The ground coffee smelled strong, reminding me of a dark roast.  I noticed a subtle hint of chocolate in the aroma, along with a faintcitrus fragrance.

After brewing KIMBO espresso coffee in my drip brewer, I took a moment to breathe in the aroma.  The ground coffee smelled like a dark roast.  The brewed coffee smelled rich.  Sipping just the black coffee, I found it to be mellow, with a slight bitterness.  I added my usual milk and 1 sugar and enjoyed how full of rich flavor the coffee was.  I found the flavor to be smooth and balanced, a full-bodied coffee with a rich texture, which I really enjoyed the most!

KIMBO Gold Medal is primarily Arabica beans ground to medium coarse so it can be used in drip and French Press coffee makers.  EnjoyBetter Coffee.com has 8.8oz/250g vacuum-packed bags of ground Gold Medal coffee.  KIMBO also makes several other roasts in ground, decaf and whole bean.

If this is the coffee that one would drink in Naples, Italy, then sipping a cup of KIMBO on a Neopolitan piazza is now on my bucket list!

4 thoughts on “Coffee Review: KIMBO Gold Medal Italian Espresso Coffee

  1. Good question, Neil! I assume you mean in taste. Both are a blend of arabica and robusta beans; both have strong flavor. I have been told that the Lavazza has a better crema, but you will have to decide that for yourself. From a price perspective, we believe we have the best prices on both brands! Thanks for writing!

    Like

Comments are closed.